Home Newsletter Resources

Go Back   Small Business Forum > Online Business Discussion > Internet Marketing
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2005, 01:01 AM
Fritz M
 
Posts: n/a
baidu spider and referer spam

I just noticed that the Baidu Spider has started putting "findmore.org"
as the referer in their header.

My stats page is Disallowed in robots.txt so referer spam doesn't work,
but I still dislike the idea that these guys are trying it. The spider
is crawling at a reasonable rate (just a couple of hits per hour at the
most), so bandwidth isn't an issue.

Any thoughts on this? Is putting a referer in the spider crawl spammy?
Should I ban these guys from my website?

RFM

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:00 AM
Koms Bomb
 
Posts: n/a
Re: baidu spider and referer spam

> I just noticed that the Baidu Spider has started putting "findmore.org"
> as the referer in their header.
>
> My stats page is Disallowed in robots.txt so referer spam doesn't work,
> but I still dislike the idea that these guys are trying it. The spider
> is crawling at a reasonable rate (just a couple of hits per hour at the
> most), so bandwidth isn't an issue.
>
> Any thoughts on this? Is putting a referer in the spider crawl spammy?
> Should I ban these guys from my website?


Have no idea on your question.
What I can tell you is baidu is a Chinese search engine. If your don't
expect Chinese visitors to visit your website, maybe you can ban it.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2005, 01:00 AM
Fritz M
 
Posts: n/a
Re: baidu spider and referer spam

Koms Bomb wrote:

> Have no idea on your question.


I wasn't quite awake when I posted my original note. It turns out it's
a spoof spider pretending to be the Baidu spider. I've already banned
the IP addresses in question.

RFM

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2005, 01:33 AM
davidof
 
Posts: n/a
Re: baidu spider and referer spam

Fritz M wrote:
> I just noticed that the Baidu Spider has started putting "findmore.org"
> as the referer in their header.


as a rule I ban all referrer spammers
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC5
smallbusinessforum.com

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30