View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2005, 07:39 AM
T.J.
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Curious link trade request


"Carol W" <from_you@nomail.com> wrote in message
news:bb57319vhbraqctuqgij0kn60m03gu2h9o@4ax.com...
> On 12 Mar 2005 18:48:39 GMT, jfc@mit.edu (John F. Carr) wrote:
>
>
> [snip]
>>What's up with this? Legitimate directory site, attempt to trick
>>search engines, or something else? I'm asking here because I'm
>>betting on the second, and I wonder if this sort of trick is common.

>
> Looking at the site; it appears to be a student of MIT's personal-like
> site. Looking on the front page they share
> "I am a member of the National Motorists Association, the only
> national group supporting motorists rights and the use of engineering
> standards instead of politics for traffic control."
> So that explains the small sub-section of their personal site about
> speeding and speeding laws - which they contacted you about for a link
> exchange.
>
> I don't think, at first glance, they are into tricking the search
> engines. Very plain and basic pages that appear 1993 in looks [devoid
> of color, background images, images, etc] so more into sharing links
> and information. But right now I wouldn't classify it as a
> directory-site either; maybe in time if the person spins that section
> out to a stand alone site and then beefs it up some but right now it
> is just one informational subsection of a larger site.
>
> Carol


I think you will find the site you are talking about is the OP's site
not the one he is referring to asking for the link.


Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote